As of the 16th November 2021 we are unable to process any online orders. We anticipate the service will be back up shortly.
We apologise for any inconvenience

Around the World in 80 Trees

Author:   Lucille Clerc ,  Jonathan Drori
Publisher:   Orion Publishing Co
ISBN:  

9781786271617


Pages:   240
Publication Date:   01 May 2018
Format:   Hardback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $35.00 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Around the World in 80 Trees


Add your own review!

Overview

An arboreal odyssey - NATURE One of the most quietly beautiful books of the year - DAILY MAIL Discover the secretive world of trees in Jonathan Drori's number one bestseller... Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe. In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup. Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water. Each of these strange and true tales - populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts - is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail - there should be surprises for everyone. Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts. An irresistible mix of science, culture, botany, history and vicarious travel - SYDNEY MORNING HERALD Reads like a love song to the natural world, brimming with ancient anecdotes contained within the earth - CULTURE TRIP

Full Product Details

Author:   Lucille Clerc ,  Jonathan Drori
Publisher:   Orion Publishing Co
Imprint:   Laurence King Publishing
Dimensions:   Width: 15.00cm , Height: 2.80cm , Length: 23.20cm
Weight:   0.800kg
ISBN:  

9781786271617


ISBN 10:   1786271613
Pages:   240
Publication Date:   01 May 2018
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

`This is the best love letter to trees I have ever read. Had I written it myself, I would die happy'. Sir Tim Smit, Founder of The Eden Project `I have loved trees all my life. It's fascinating to learn how, across the world, they have inspired people in much the same way, and to understand the key role they play, not just in our lives, but life as a whole'. Dame Judi Dench `This is the perfect tree book, with beautiful illustrations. A must for any tree lover, professional or amateur, who wants to learn more about 80 inspirational trees from around the world'. Tony Kirkham, Head of the Arboretum at Kew `Full of new ideas and wonderful stories about the trees that helped shape us, I really loved this entertaining and erudite world journey'. Beccy Speight, Chief Executive, The Woodland Trust `Around the World in 80 Trees is a celebration of the vital importance of trees to our culture, environment, diet and spiritual well-being. The combination of factual, scientific and historical information makes for a fascinating read. It is a work of art and science with charming illustrations which will delight tree lovers everywhere'. Professor Nicola Spence, the UK Government's Chief Plant Health Officer `In this delightful and beautifully illustrated book Jonathan provides a collection of fascinating biographies of some of the world's most extraordinary trees. [...] This is a personal narrative; Jonathan's love for trees, and his sense of wonder at the diversity of the natural world, shines through on every page'. Richard Deverell, Director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew `Botanical science, culture and the history of exploration all come together in this journey around the world through many of the most important trees that influence the customs and economy of each country. I would have found it hard to make a better selection of trees that are influential and important to the culture of the many countries [in this] most engaging trip around the world'. Professor Sir Ghillean Prance FRS, VMH, Former Director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew `Nature writing at its best, skilfully weaving science with fascinating folklore and the sheer wonder of trees'. Professor Sir Charles Godfray CBE FRS


Beautiful to behold and to read, with exceptional illustrations by Lucille Clerc -- The Sunday Times Culture the perfect combination of love and science . -- Evening Standard a fond and fascinating look at the remarkable qualities of 80 different species of trees and how they've helped to shape civilisation -- The Irish Times A brilliant blend of science, history, culture and folklore, this interesting and engaging book explores the relationship between people and trees as it circumnavigates the globe. The quietly passionate writing is informative, interesting and quite delightful. The hardback version is one of the best-produced books I've read in years: the formatting is crisp and inviting, the paper is heavy and of high quality, and almost every page includes color drawings by artist Lucille Clerc that are simply breathtaking. Together, these features make this book a joy to touch, to hold and to read. -- Forbes 'This is the best love letter to trees I have ever read. Had I written it myself, I would die happy'. Sir Tim Smit, Founder of The Eden Project 'I have loved trees all my life. It's fascinating to learn how, across the world, they have inspired people in much the same way, and to understand the key role they play, not just in our lives, but life as a whole'. Dame Judi Dench 'This is the perfect tree book, with beautiful illustrations. A must for any tree lover, professional or amateur, who wants to learn more about 80 inspirational trees from around the world'. Tony Kirkham, Head of the Arboretum at Kew 'Full of new ideas and wonderful stories about the trees that helped shape us, I really loved this entertaining and erudite world journey'. Beccy Speight, Chief Executive, The Woodland Trust 'Around the World in 80 Trees is a celebration of the vital importance of trees to our culture, environment, diet and spiritual well-being. The combination of factual, scientific and historical information makes for a fascinating read. It is a work of art and science with charming illustrations which will delight tree lovers everywhere'. Professor Nicola Spence, the UK Government's Chief Plant Health Officer 'In this delightful and beautifully illustrated book Jonathan provides a collection of fascinating biographies of some of the world's most extraordinary trees. [...] This is a personal narrative; Jonathan's love for trees, and his sense of wonder at the diversity of the natural world, shines through on every page'. Richard Deverell, Director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew 'Botanical science, culture and the history of exploration all come together in this journey around the world through many of the most important trees that influence the customs and economy of each country. I would have found it hard to make a better selection of trees that are influential and important to the culture of the many countries [in this] most engaging trip around the world'. Professor Sir Ghillean Prance FRS, VMH, Former Director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew 'Nature writing at its best, skilfully weaving science with fascinating folklore and the sheer wonder of trees'. Professor Sir Charles Godfray CBE FRS


Author Information

Jonathan Drori (Author) Jonathan Drori CBE is a Trustee of The Eden Project and Cambridge Science Centre, an Ambassador for the WWF, and was for nine years a Trustee of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, and The Woodland Trust. He is on the board of Cambridge University Botanic Garden, and is a Fellow of the Linnean Society, the Zoological Society of London and the Royal Geographical Society. In a previous life at the BBC, he was Executive Producer of more than fifty prime-time science documentaries and popular series. Lucille Clerc (Author, Illustrator) Lucille Clerc is a French illustrator who studied at ENSAAMA in Paris and Central Saint Martins in London. She has worked with international fashion houses, museums and Historic Royal Palaces and The Palace of Versailles. Her work is produced through drawing and screen-printing, much of it inspired by London and the relationship between cities and nature.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

 lw

ls 

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List