Acts of Desperation

Author:   Megan Nolan
Publisher:   Vintage Publishing
ISBN:  

9781787333369


Pages:   288
Publication Date:   04 March 2021
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $29.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Acts of Desperation


Add your own review!

Overview

A bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature, for fans of Sally Rooney and Nora Ephron **THE TIMES BESTSELLER** *A NEW STATESMAN, OBSERVER, IRISH TIMES, i AND STYLIST BOOK OF 2021* 'Please believe the hype ... a seriously exciting writer' Sunday Times 'The millennial author everyone should be watching right now' Daily Telegraph 'Such brilliant writing about female desire, co-dependant love...Incredibly honest and visceral' Marian Keyes Discover this bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature. Love was the final consolation, would set ablaze the fields of my life in one go, leaving nothing behind. I thought of it as a force which would clean me and by its presence make me worthy of it. There was no religion in my life after early childhood, and a great faith in love was what I had cultivated instead. Oh, don't laugh at me for this, for being a woman who says this to you. I hear myself speak. Even now, even after all that took place between us, I can still feel how moved I am by him. Ciaran was that downy, darkening blond of a baby just leaving its infancy. He was the most beautiful man I had ever seen. None of it mattered in the end; what he looked like, who he was, the things he would do to me. To make a beautiful man love and live with me had seemed - obviously, intuitively - the entire point of life. My need was greater than reality, stronger than the truth, more savage than either of us would eventually bear. How could it be true that a woman like me could need a man's love to feel like a person, to feel that I was worthy of life? And what would happen when I finally wore him down and took it? 'A dark, intense account of an obsessive love affair. It's great on the elation of falling in love and then its flip side, the anxiety, fixation and self-doubt. A really fine debut' David Nicholls

Full Product Details

Author:   Megan Nolan
Publisher:   Vintage Publishing
Imprint:   Jonathan Cape Ltd
Dimensions:   Width: 13.50cm , Height: 2.10cm , Length: 21.60cm
Weight:   0.286kg
ISBN:  

9781787333369


ISBN 10:   1787333361
Pages:   288
Publication Date:   04 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

A darkly rich and heady exploration of hunger and unraveling, Acts of Desperation is unashamed and honest. It questions the truest way to inhabit a body and shows us the horror and the beauty in learning to be alone. -- Jessica Andrews


Honest, brutal and intense, Megan Nolan's Acts Of Desperation is described as an anti-romance . -- Francesca Brown * Stylist *Best New Fiction for 2021* * A darkly rich and heady exploration of hunger and unraveling, Acts of Desperation is unashamed and honest. It questions the truest way to inhabit a body and shows us the horror and the beauty in learning to be alone. -- Jessica Andrews Oh my god! Such brilliant writing about female desire, co-dependant love, the ownership that's taken of female bodies and how it corrupts our relationship to them. I identified hugely. Incredibly honest and visceral. -- Marian Keyes This is an incredible debut by @mmegannolan. Poignant, poetic, raw and utterly unique - I couldn't stop reading. Pre-order it now. -- Pandora Sykes * Instagram *


Author Information

Megan Nolan lives in London and was born in 1990 in Waterford, Ireland. Her essays, fiction and reviews have been published in The New York Times, The White Review, The Sunday Times, The Village Voice, The Guardian and in the literary anthology, Winter Papers. She writes a fortnightly column for the New Statesman. This is her first novel.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

MDRG1

 VIEW OUR LATEST READING GUIDE HERE 

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List